Profile photo of Danish Technological Institute

Online vote for Public Prize: European eGovernment Awards practice what we preach…

8. October 2009 – 13:41 by Danish Technological Institute

Practicing what we preach, the European eGovernment Awards, and the European Commission invite members of the and PEP-NET communities to vote for their favourite cases among the 52 European eGovernment Awards 2009 finalists. The 4th European eGovernment Awards Public Prize is awarded to the finalist receiving the highest number of votes.

There are four categories for the European eGovernment Awards 2009, including the Public Prize. The themes of the categories are in line with the European Union’s framework and reflect the priorities of the 5th Ministerial eGovernment Conference. As in 2007, the fourth category is the Public Prize and therefore not subject to expert evaluation.

The Public Prize is based on an online vote by members for the best case from among the 52 shortlisted finalists. As such, the Public Prize represents a unique opportunity to be part of the process, help the European Commission to select the best practices and support your preferred finalists in winning one of the prestigious European eGovernment Awards.

Vote and win!

Cast your votes for the Public Prize by 18 October 2009 and you might be one of the five lucky portal members to receive free admission to the 5th Ministerial eGovernment Conference in Malmö. In addition, all voters who cast their votes before 11 November 2009 – the final online voting deadline – will have a chance at winning some of our other prizes: USB phone chargers and computer screen cleaners.

The winners will be chosen randomly in two separate draws: One for free admission to the Ministerial eGovernment Conference and one for our other prizes. All winners will be notified by e-mail. All portal members who vote online for their three favourite cases from among the 52 finalists will be eligible for the draw, excluding European Commission and staff and contractors.

If a winner of the free admission to the 5th Ministerial eGovernment Conference fails to confirm his/her attendance within five working days after being notified, the invitation will be offered to another voter. Note that the invitation includes admission to the conference only, i.e. all costs regarding travel and accommodation will NOT be covered.

The 5th Ministerial eGovernment Conference will be held on 19-20 November 2009 in Malmö (Sweden). This high-level conference offers a unique learning and networking opportunity, bringing together more than 1 000 prominent public and private decision-makers and experts from across Europe and beyond. This is a unique opportunity to be granted admission to this high-profile event: attendance is limited and by invitation only!

How to vote?

Votes can be cast only online, using the voting facility on the site. In order to vote, you must be a registered member of (membership open to all) and have the minimum required user profile. Please read the online voting rules here before starting to vote.

Voters are asked to cast votes for three finalists from at least two countries to strengthen the European dimension of the Public Prize. If you vote for three cases from the same country, your votes will be disqualified.

Online voting closes on 11 November 2009 at 18:00 CET.  

 Further information: 

Posted by: Danish Technological Institute, Morten Meyerhoff Nielsen

Be Sociable, Share!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

  1. 1 Trackback(s)

  2. Oct 20, 2009: PEP-NET » Blog Archive » (e) Participatory Budgeting in Germany

Post a Comment

The PEP-NET Blog uses the gravatar service to display your picture next to comments!